So you want to get into medical school?

It is notoriously difficult to get into medical school, so I’m going to list a few resources that I found incredibly useful to prepare me for the interviews,  applications and A levels:

Websites for preparation / courses:

Books for admissions preparation:

  • 600 BMAT questions
  • ‘medical school interviews’ isc medical
  • Resources from medic mentor and 6med
  • Critical thinking books for BMAT

Wider reading:

  • BBC health / science for news
  • Guardian health for news
  • New Scientist magazine
  • BBC focus magazines
  • Student BMJ
  • BBC podcasts eg ‘inside the ethics committee’
  • Radio four podcasts
  • Future learn – many relevant free online courses on here

Books:

  • The Emperor of all Maladies
  • The Big Bang and why you need to know about it
  • New scientist books (eg ‘question everything’)
  • Medic mentor magazine
  • Junk DNA
  • The compatibility gene
  • The man who mistook his wife for a hat (and other Oliver Sacks books)
  • Richard Dawkins books
  • ‘A very short introduction’ books on pretty much any topic

For getting the grades at A level:

I am also selling my A level biology notes that helped me achieve an A*:  http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/381962635628?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649 

 



ONLINE TUTORING

Do you want help with your application? 

If you would like one-to-one advice with applying to medicine then I am happy to mentor you. I am a member of various tutoring websites through which I mentor various students applying to medicine. I have a lot of resources to share, including my own personal statement and interview resources.

I also tutor A level biology and GCSE sciences. Message me through the contact me form if you think you can benefit from my help, and I will give you the link to my online tutoring profile  🙂

 


The above focused a lot on resources to help you make your application spot on. Here are a few websites that give a lot of great information and reflections about applying for medicine and life as a doctor:

2 thoughts on “So you want to get into medical school?

Leave a Reply

